Skip to content

Eurovision 2012 slogan presented on 25 January

During the Host City Insignia Exchange ceremony the mayor of last year's Host City of Düsseldorf Dirk Elbers will hand over the symbolic key to the Eurovision Song Contest to the mayor of this year's Host City Hajibala Abutalibov.

This will mark the moment when Baku becomes officially the Host City of this year's Europe's favourite TV show.

Allocation draw for Semi-Finals

After the ceremony at the Buta Palace, the Semi-Final allocation draw will be held there as well where all the 37 Semi-Finalists will be drawn into two Semi-Finals.

It will also be determined which Semi-Final the 'Big Five' (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom) as well as last year's winning country of Azerbaijan will have to broadcast and vote in.

To assure maximum suspense, the countries represented in the Semi-Finals will be drawn from six pots, based on voting patterns of previous years. This spreads countries that regularly exchange votes over the two Semi-Finals.

The draw for the running order will be held in March during the Heads of Delegations meeting after all delegations have picked and handed in their songs officially to the European Broadcasting Union.

Theme art to be introduced

Since 2004, the Eurovision Song Contest has a generic logo where in the heart of it the flag of the Host Country is displayed. However, every year the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) invites the Host Broadcaster to create the visual identity to support the logo.

Ictimai TV, the Host Broadcaster of the 2012 contest, will introduce just that during the Host City Insignia Exchange

This year's Eurovision Song Contest will take place on the 22nd, 24th and 26th of May in Baku, Azerbaijan. The country got the right to host Europe's favourite TV show when their contestants Ell/Nikki won the contest in 2011 with their song Running Scared

Comments 💬