Skip to content

EBU statement regarding personnel changes at UA:PBC

It was announced today that a number of members of the core team of the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest have resigned from their positions. Executive Producers Oleksandr Kharebin and Victoria Romanova will be stepping down from their positions as will Commercial Director Iryna Asman and Event Manager Denys Bloshchynskyi and his team. Head of Security Oleksii Karaban, was also a signatory on the letter.  

Following the announcement, the EBU released the following statement:

Victoria Romanova, Oleksandr Kharebin, Iryna Asman, Denys Bloshchynski and his team and Oleksii Karaban informed the EBU on 10th February that they were resigning from their roles for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. The group felt they were not able to continue work on the project owing to staffing matters at UA:PBC, which the EBU cannot fully comment on. 

The team have been instrumental in the planning for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, and we thank them for their hard work. We have reiterated to UA:PBC the importance of a speedy and efficient implementation of plans already agreed, despite staff changes, and that we stick to the timeline and milestones that have been established and approved by the Reference Group to ensure a successful Contest in May.

Further information regarding the core team of the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest will be released in due course. The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Kyiv’s International Exhibition Centre on 9th, 11th and 13th May. Last year Ukraine won the Eurovision Song Contest with the song 1944 performed by Jamala.