Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Dutch acts revealed by TROS

Posted 5 January 2012 at 12:11

Via press conference and Twitter, the Dutch broadcaster TROS has just revealed the names of the six acts who will compete to represent the Netherlands at the Eurovision Song Contest in Baku in May.
After a series of disappointing results, broadcaster TROS decided to employ the creator of Big Brother, John de Mol to preside over their 2012 national selection. With it, an open selection will take place for the first time for a number of years on the 26th of February.
The open selection involved artists submitting music, lyrics, text or a mixture thereof to a huge suitcase erected outside the offices of TROS in Hilversum. From here the work began to piece the 6 songs and acts together, which were revealed today.
Here are the details of who will take part in the 2012 edition of Nationaal Songfestival:
Chocolatte Artist: Raffaëla Paton Music & Lyrics: Jan Rooymans, Chris Silos
You And Me Artist: Joan Franka Music & Lyrics: Joan Franka & Jessica Hogeboom
Take Me As I Am Artist: Ivan Peroti Music & Lyrics: Alain Clark, Steve Diamond, Ben Caver
We can overcome Artist: Pearl Jozefzoon Music & Lyrics: Gordon Groothedde
Undercover Lover Artist: Tim Douwsma Music & Lyrics: Bruce R.F. Smith, Michel van der Zanden
Children of the World Aritst: Kim de Boer Music & Lyrics: Martijn Schimmer

Immediately after the announcement #songfestival and TimDouwsma trended worldwide on Twitter.
Stay tuned for further news of the Nationaal Songfestival, which will be presented by Jan Smit on the 26th of February.
The Netherlandsnational selectionnewsTwitterNationaal Songfestival2012BakuJohn de Mol
Share this story