Denmark: Ronan Keating makes comeback

A new system was applied this year to select the Danish entrant in the Eurovision Song Contest. After all ten acts had performed, four of them advanced to the second phase, voted on by the jury and the public. The four qualifiers then performed again in two singoffs and the two favourites of the televoters met in a superfinal. 

From the two sing-offs, Hera Björk and Brinck went on to meet in the superfinal where Brinck proved to be victorious. His song Believe Again is written by Ireland’s Ronan Keating (former member of Boyzone) and Denmark’s DeeKay (Lars Halvor Jensen & Martin M. Larsson). It's not Keating's first connection with the Eurovision Song Contest - he hosted the event in 1997 in Dublin! Watch the winning song below.


Brinck moved to Copenhagen four years ago and, in addition to writing and producing, has been working on developing his vocal skills. After spending some time at the Music Conservatory and trying out other avenues, he found himself more and more attracted to the challenge of performing and to the role of the vocalist. So when he finally made his debut with In The End I Started as the theme song to the Danish detective series Anna Pihl (second and third seasons), people were taking note of his interesting composition style and his voice – which comes across as both powerful and fragile and displays a rare charisma.

Denmark will be ninth in line to perform in the second Semi-Final of Europe's favourite TV-show on the 14th of May in Moscow.

By the way - did you know that Brinck's latest album has produced three Top 20 hits? You can find that and more about him out on his Artist Profile.

Comments 💬

Related stories

Anja Nissen fulfills her childhood dream

3 years ago
The Alexandrov Ensemble at the 2009 Eurovision Song Conest

Russian army choir - Eurovision 2009 interval act - loses 64 members in plane crash tragedy

4 years ago

2021 artists to record song “live-on-tape” to ensure Contest will happen

3 months ago