Skip to content

Denmark presents its national final candidates

Just some minutes ago, DR revealed the much anticipated field for the immensely popular Melodi Grand Prix - one of the most watched events in Denmark every year! 562 songs were entered altogether and the lucky ten that were chosen to compete are the following:

  • Bryan Rice - Breathing
  • Joakim Tranberg - All About A Girl
  • MariaMatilde Band - Panik!
  • Simone - How Will I Know
  • Jens Marni - Gloria
  • Chanée & N'evergreen - In A Moment Like This
  • Kaya Brüel - Only Tonight
  • Thomas Barsøe - Just Like Rain
  • Sukkerchok - Kæmper For Kærlighed
  • Silas & Kat - Come Come Run Away

Just like last year, Irish superstar Ronan Keating has a song in the running, this time All About A Girl by Joakim Tranberg.

Bryan Rice, Kaya Brüel and Sukkerchok have been given a wildcard for this year's Melodi Grand Prix by the Danish broadcaster while the other seven came from the open competition.

The 2010 Melodi Grand Prix will be held in Aalborg on the 6th of February and will be hosted by Felix Smith, Julie Berthelsen, Jørgen de Mylius & Keld Heick. Jørgen de Mylius is a long-time presenter for DR and has hosted the Melodi Grand Prix 11 times in the past. He has also been the Danish commentator for the Eurovision Song Contest 24 times. Keld Heick has won Melodi Grand Prix 9 times already as a composer and is one of the most respected musicians in Denmark.

Denmark reached the final in the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest with Brinck's Believe which proved to be a massive success in its native country. The song was later covered by popular singer Jeroen van der Boom and even made it to No.1 on the official Dutch singles charts!

Comments 💬