Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Denmark is in it to win it as artists are revealed

Posted 5 January 2012 at 11:59

The Danish national selection is taking a new twist this year as DR ups its game and presents 10 impressive acts, who will all battle it out to represent Denmark at the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest in Baku in May.
There are some big names in the competition this year, both behind the scenes and on stage, all vying for the top spot on the 21st of January at the Gigantium Arena in Aalborg.
Most notably in the context of Europe's favourite TV show, we see the return of the songwriter team who brought Germany its first victory in 28 years - John Gordon and Julie Frost.
DR's slogan is "This year is the year" and in addition to these 10 terrific acts, changes have been made to the voting procedure with an international jury being involved for the first time. Keep on reading to find out more!

The 10 acts - A varied selection of supremely talented artists.

After placing in the top 5 two years in a row, Denmark really has a thirst for victory, which is why they have put a lot of effort into finding 10 acts that all have winning potential. As such DR has managed to lure a whole swath of artists, producers and writers who are not only successful in Denmark but also abroad.
Four of the acts were invited by DR to compete as Wildcards. These are noted below.
Later on today we will publish a detailed description of all the acts and songwriters right here on Eurovision.tv so stay tuned for that. In the meantime, take a look at the 10 acts below (in order of appearance):
Take Our Hearts (Wildcard) Artist: Jesper Nohrstedt Music & Lyrics: Morten Hampenberg, Engelina & Mads B.B. Krog
Nowhere Artist: VALEN:TINE Music & Lyrics: Søren Itenov, Christoffer Stjerne & Tine Lynggaard
Best Thing I Got Artist: Aya Music & Lyrics: John Gordon & Julie Frost
Reach For The Sky Artist: Kenneth Potempa Music & Lyrics: Peter Bjørnskov, Lene Dissing & Sune Haansbæk
Overflow Artist: Ditte Marie Music & Lyrics: Mike Eriksson, Johnny Sanchez & Hanif Sabzevari
Baby Love Me Artist: Philip Halloun & Emilia Music & Lyrics: Philip Halloun & Emilia
Forever I B Young (Wildcard) Artist: Suriya Music & Lyrics: Suriyatim Hoffmann, Thomas Hoffmann & Jakob Winge
Universe Artist: Karen Viuff Music & Lyrics: Lise Cabble, Boe Larsen & Simon Borch
Should've Known Better (Wildcard) Artist: Soluna Samay Music & Lyrics: Remee, Chief 1 & Isam B
Venter (Wildcard) Artist: Christian Brøns & Patrik Isaksson Music & Lyrics: Christian Brøns, Patrik Isaksson & Rune Braager

New voting procedures including the introduction of an international jury

Denmark really want to win in Azerbaijan and in order to assist with this, representatives from the past 4 winning countries (Russia, Norway, Germany and Azerbaijan) have been recruited to form an international jury. Together with the Danish professional jury, they will have 50% of the vote.
In order to facilitate the introduction of the international jury, the voting procedure has been simplified compared to previous years. The 10 songs will be performed after which the viewers and Danish professional jury will decide three songs to progress to the second round. Here the three acts will perform again and the international jury, followed by the danish jury and finally the public, will vote on the winner.
In all the jury votes (both the international and Danish) will equal 50% whilst the viewers' votes will also equal 50% of the final vote.

A commentator to assist the viewers in making their choice

Another major change to Dansk Melodi Grand Prix this year is that a commentator has been recruited to provide narration of each of the songs during the show. This will be Ole Tøpholm who is also the Danish commentator at the Eurovision Song Contest and has a huge knowledge of the competition.
In the week leading up to the final of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, host city Aalborg will be transformed into a party town with various events mark the lead up to the biggest annual event in Danish television.
Stay tuned to Eurovision.tv as we cover Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, bringing you the result on the 21st of January.
In the meantime, as mentioned above, we will publish detailed information about each of this year's acts later on today. Definitely worth watching out for!
BakuartistsDansk Melodi Grand PrixDenmark2012newsnational selectionAalborgGigantium
Share this story