Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Denmark: Brinck wins Melodi Grand Prix!

Posted 31 January 2009 at 22:07

A new system was applied this year to select the Danish entrant in the Eurovision Song Contest. After all ten acts had performed, four of them advanced to the second phase, voted on by the jury and the public. The four qualifiers then performed again in two singoffs and the two favourites of the televoters met in a superfinal. The ten songs participating were the following (qualifiers to the second phase in bold):
  1. Trine Jepsen - I Never Fall In Love Again - written by Claes Andreasson,Torbjörn Wassenius, Johan Sahlén and Niels Kvistborg
  2. Jeppe - Lucky Boy - written by Jeppe Laursen
  3. Marie Carmen Koppel - Crying Out Your Name - written by Marie Carmen Koppel and Dan Hemmer
  4. Sukkerchock - Det Det - written by Lasse Lindorff, Mogens Binderup and Lise Cabble
  5. Jimmy Jørgensen - Alice In The Wonderland - written by Mikael Erlandsson, Torbjørn Wassenius, Claes Andreasson and Birgitte Rye
  6. Hera Björk - Someday - written by Christina Schilling, Jonas Gladnikoff, Henrik Szabo and Daniel Nilsson
  7. Claus Christensen - Big Bang Baby - written by Troels Holdt, Lars Malm and Lise Cabble
  8. Johnny Deluxe - Sindssyg - written by Noam Halby, Jakob Glæsner and Peter Kvint
  9. Christina Undhjem - Underneath My Skin - written by Mads Haugaard and Brian Risberg Clausen
  10. Niels Brinck - Believe Again - written by Lars Halvor Jensen, Martin M. Larsson and Ronan Keating
From the two sing-offs, Hera Björk and Brinck went on to meet in the superfinal where Brinck proved to be victorious with his song Believe Again and will now represent the country in the second Semi-Final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest which will take place on the 14th of May in Moscow.
national selection2009newsDenmarkMelodi Grand Prix
Share this story