Skip to main content

Danish final heads for Odense in 2014

25 September 2013 at 17:07 CEST

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix has become an institution, not only in Denmark, but also among fans the world over, all of whom have eagerly been awaiting today's news. In March next year all eyes will be on Denmark's third largest city, Odense, where ten acts will compete to represent their country on home turf in Copenhagen on the 10th of May.

Party in Odense

The excitement will reach breaking point on Saturday the 8th of March when Denmark will decide who will represent them in Copenhagen with the city of Odense also promising a series of parties and events to really capture the moment. Broadcaster DR has also emphasised the importance of next year's show:

"The eyes of the world will be on Denmark as we will host the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest. As such the Danish national final, Melodi Grand Prix, is going to be something quite special this time. We know that Odense can pull off this huge task and provide the setting for a super amazing show and a massive party for everyone", says DR's Director of Entertainment, Rasmus Ladefoged.

The last time Dansk Melodi Grand Prix was held on Funen was in 1993 when Tommy Seebach won the right to fly the Danish flag in Millstreet with the song Under stjernerne på himlen. Back then the event was held at the Odense Kongrescenter and in 2014 the event will hosted at the much larger Arena Fyn.

This content is unfortunately no longer available

Full circle after 21 years

In 2014 it will be 21 years since Dansk Melodi Grand Prix was last held in Odense, on the island of Funen. Since then the competition has taken a huge tour around Denmark. You can see below:

  • 1993 - Odense
  • 1994 - Did not participate
  • 1995 - Søborg
  • 1996 - Søborg
  • 1997 - Søborg
  • 1998 - Did not participate
  • 1999 - Søborg
  • 2000 - Copenhagen
  • 2001 - Herning
  • 2002 - Copenhagen
  • 2003 - Did not participate
  • 2004 - Århus
  • 2005 - Horsens
  • 2006 - Aalborg
  • 2007 - Horsens
  • 2008 - Horsens
  • 2009 - Herning
  • 2010 - Aalborg
  • 2011 - Ballerup
  • 2012 - Aalborg
  • 2013 - Herning
  • 2014 - Odense

Deadline for entry submission looms

All entries for Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2014 must be submitted by the deadline of the 7th of October after which a jury will set to work choosing 6 songs. In addition DR will be inviting four Danish artists to take part as wildcards.

A press conference will take place in Odense on the 1st of October at 13:00 CET.

This year Emmelie de Forest won the Danish final in Herning with the song Only Teardrops, which also went on to win the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö back in May.

As such, the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest will take place on the 6th, 8th and 10th of May at the B&W-Hallerne on Refshaleøen in Copenhagen. As the host country, Denmark is automatically qualified to the Grand Final.