Skip to main content

D mol to represent Montenegro in Tel Aviv with 'Heaven'

09 February 2019 at 23:03 CET
The group D-Moll, one of the participants in Montenegro's national selection for the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest. RTCG
After topping the fan polls for several days, the group D mol managed to capture the hearts of the Montenegrin public as well. Moments ago, they won the national selection 'Montevizija 2019' and will thus represent Montenegro at this year's Eurovision Song Contest with the song 'Heaven'.

During a primetime television show, hosted by broadcaster RTCG in Podgorica, five acts competed for the honour of representing Montenegro at the contest in Tel Aviv:

  • D mol ā€“ Heaven (LISTEN)
  • Andrea Demirović ā€“ Ja sam ti san (LISTEN)
  • Monika Knezović ā€“ NepogrjeÅ”ivo (LISTEN)
  • Ivana Popović-Martinović ā€“ Nevinost (LISTEN
  • Nina Petković ā€“ Uzmi ili ostavi (LISTEN)

First, viewers at home, a radio jury, a music industry jury and an international jury determined which two songs would proceed to a second round. The latter featured former winners Ruslana (Ukraine 2004) and Eldar Gasimov (Azerbaijan 2011), as well as Slovenia's 2018 contestant Lea Sirk, Hungary's 2014 singer Andras Kallay Saunders, Malta's 2002 and 2016 contestant Ira Losco and Swedish TV presenter Jovan Radomir.

After each jury had cast their votes, D mol and Ivana Popović-Martinović proceeded to the second round. Andrea Demirović, Montenegro's 2009 Eurovision Song Contest representative, didn't make it to the shortlist.

Finally, it was up to viewers at home to decide by SMS who would be chosen to represent their country at the 64th Eurovision Song Contest, awarding the ticket to Tel Aviv to the group D mol.

During the show, broadcaster RTCG also awarded a trip to the Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv to one of the viewers who took part in the SMS voting.

Heaven, originally titled Ti, was composed by Dejan Božović and lyrics were written by Aleksandar Miličić. The English lyrics have been written by Adis Eminić.

D mol consists of six members. Little background details were revealed about the group, but as they only got elevated to the international stage tonight, we will surely get to know them better in the days and weeks to come.

Third time to qualify for the Grand Final?

After the break-up of Serbia & Montenegro into two separate countries, Montenegro debuted on the Eurovision stage in 2007. Out of Montenegro's ten Eurovision participations to date, the country only managed to qualify for the Grand Final twice; in 2014 and 2015. Last year, Vanja Radovanović finished 16th in the second Semi-Final with Inje. We'll have to wait until the first Semi-Final on the 14th of May to see whether Montenegro will earn its third Grand Final qualification.

What do you think of Montenegro's choice for Tel Aviv? Let us know in the comments!