Skip to main content

Cyprus: Andrew Lambrou reveals 'Break A Broken Heart'

02 March 2023 at 09:00 CET
Andrew Lambrou
Cyprus has finally revealed the song Andrew Lambrou will perform at Eurovision 2023. ‘Break A Broken Heart’ has been released by Panik Records of Greece and City Pop Records of Australia.

The ballad was penned by Jimmy “Joker” Thörnfeldt, Jimmy Jansson, Thomas Stengaard, and Marcus Winther-John. It is a song about relationships that end with a broken heart but in the end they might very well push us to rise again from the ashes, even stronger.

The video, directed by the popular Greek director Giorgos Mpenioudakis, is available to watch on the Panik Records YouTube channel.

Andrew Lambrou

The team behind the entry is no stranger to a pop hit or two…

Jimmy “Joker” Thörnfeldt is an acclaimed Swedish songwriter and producer. He participated in penning and producing international hits such as Papi by Jennifer Lopez and Move to Miami by Pitbull and Enrique Iglesias, just to name a couple. He was also part of the songwriting and production team behind the 2021 Cyprus entry in the Eurovision Song Contest El Diablo, performed by Elena Tsagrinou.

Jimmy Jansson is an acclaimed Swedish songwriter and producer, whose many songs have participated in Melodifestivalen, Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, and many others. He has written and produced songs for artists such as Helena Paparizou, Margaret, Robin Bengtsson, Eric Saade, Lisa Ajax, Anna Bergendahl and many others.

Thomas Stengaard is a Danish songwriter and producer, really well known in the Eurovision world for co-writing the winning song in the 2013 contest Only Teardrops, performed by Emmelie de Forest. He has written and produced for an array of artists including Adel Tawil, Alvaro Soler, Carpark North, Cisilia, The Baseballs, Leslie Clio, TVXQ and Exile, just to name a few. He was also part of the writing and production team of El Diablo, the 2021 Cyprus entry.

Marcus Winther-John is a Danish singer, songwriter and guitarist, who has worked with many popular Danish and Swedish artists such as Christopher and Robin Bengtsson.

Andrew Lambrou

It is worth noting that behind the song’s string arrangement is Mattias Bylund, who won a Grammy award for his string arrangement on Taylor Swift’s multi platinum album, 1989.

You can listen to all 37 songs of Eurovision 2024 via your favourite streaming service or watch the music videos on our YouTube channel.

The Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Malmö, Sweden on Tuesday 7 May (First Semi-Final), Thursday 9 May (Second Semi-Final) and Saturday 11 May (Grand Final) 2024.

Don't forget to download our app (for iOSAndroid), sign up to the official Eurovision Song Contest newsletter, and subscribe to the official podcast!