Skip to main content

Cornel Ilie among the hosts of Selecţia Naţională 2016

16 February 2016 at 11:00 CET
Selecţia Naţională will have three hosts this year TVR
This year's Romanian national selection "Selecţia Naţională" will take place in Baia Mare and includes two shows: semi-final and the final. Both events will have a live broadcast on 4th and 6th of March. In the meantime, TVR confirmed that "Selecţia Naţională 2016" will have three hosts: Cornel Ilie and Ioana Voicu, and the Romanian representative at the 2009 Junior Eurovision Song Contest, Jo, will join them live from the Green Room.

The composer, lyricist and producer of Romanian pop rock band VUNK, Cornel Ilie, already has a tremendous experience as a TV and event host. In 2013 he was a host of the Romanian Music Awards, and in 2014, the host of Radio Romania Awards. Together with his band, Cornel Ilie already took part in the Romanian national final in 2002 and his band Vank came second with All Too Young

Last year, in the "Selecţia Naţională" final in Craiova, Ioana Voicu was one of the hosts, although "behind the scenes". In 2015, she was also a TV presenter of shows related to the Eurovision Song Contest. This time, however, Voicu will be Cornel Ilie’s partner on the stage. 

Jo, who represented Romania at the 2009 Junior Eurovision in Kiew, will join the competitors, her colleauges, in the Green Room at the Sports Hall in Baia Mare during semi-final and the finale. She's the one who will share the impressions from behind the scenes with TV views, facing all those overwhelming emotions among the artists and their fans in the audience.

Both shows will be broadcasted live on TVR1, TVR HD, TVR International and online on Friday, 4th of March and on Sunday, 6th of March. Live stream of the final will also be available on

The twelve participants of Selecţia Naţională are as follows:

  • Andra Olteanu – Nai Nai
  • Doru Todorut feat. Irina Baiant – The Voice
  • Dream Walkers – Let It Shine
  • Florena – Behind the Shadows
  • Hayley Evetts – Brand New Day
  • Irina Popa – Lasă-mă, eu te las
  • Jukebox – Come On Everybody
  • Mihai Bajinaru – Never Too Late
  • Mihai Traistariu – Paradisio
  • Ovidiu Anton – Moment of Silence
  • Vanotek feat. The Code & Georgian – I’m Coming Home
  • Xandra - Superhuman