Skip to main content

Castings for 2017 take place in Germany

19 October 2016 at 13:29 CEST
Tim Bendzko, Lena and Florian Silbereisen form the pre-selection jury in Germany Ingo Pertramer
German Public broadcaster ARD has returned to the same format that provided the country with its best results in the Eurovision Song Contest recent years, including victory in 2010. Five young singers will battle for the right to represent Germany in Kyiv with songs commissioned from globally successful producers. Castings for the German national selection, Eurovision Song Contest - Unser Song 2017, are due to take place in Hamburg on 5th November and Cologne on 12th November.

The German national selection for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest will take place on Thursday 9th February 2017. The three-hour show will feature a jury panel comprising three of Germany's most popular musicians: Tim Bendzko, Florian Silbereisen, and Lena, Germany's most recent Eurovision winner. Germany's representative in Kyiv will be chosen solely by the TV viewers through televoting and the official Eurovision app.

During the casting sessions next month, prospective singers will perform in front of the camera ahead of the selection process. More information about the selection, including how to enter, can be found on the official website as well as