Belarus' national selection for Eurovision 2020 begins
Belarus' national selection for Eurovision 2020 begins
— Photo: BTRC

Belarus announces artists and song titles for national selection


The names of the artists, song titles, running order and the date of the Belarusian national selection show have been revealed! The 12 artists will take the stage for their shot at a ticket to Rotterdam on 28 February at the Belarusfilm filming pavilion.

The 12 artists have officially drawn for their place in the running order, as well. The artists, in order of performance, are:

  1. Olga Shimanskaya (NAPOLI) - Do not let me down

  2. Alexandra Zakharik (Sasha Zakharik) - Rocky Road

  3. Anastasiya Vakhomchik (Malashkevich Anastasiya) - Invisible

  4. Olga Grigoryeva, Julia Yanochkina, Svetlana Kaufman (CHAKRAS band) - La-ley-la

  5. Anastasiya Glamozda - Burning again

  6. Anastasiya Razvadovskaya - Hello

  7. Yan Yaroche - Fire

  8. Angelika Pushnova - True Love

  9. Darya Khmelnitskaya - On Fire

  10. Julia Bykova (AURA) - Forbid them

  11. Ekaterina Smolskaya (KeyCi) - Chili Pepper

  12. Valeria Gribusova, Vladislav Pashkevich (VAL) - Until dawn

Preparations for the national selection show have already begun; the finalists are discussing the details of their stage performances and their introduction videos will be shot next week.

Stay tuned for the final on 28 February!


Posted 27 January 2020 at 22:12 CET

Public broadcaster BTRC has revealed that the national selection process for the Belarusian delegate for Rotterdam is underway.

BTRC began the vetting process by listening to each of the 49 participants for Eurovision 2020, already narrowed down from 95 initial applicants, live in studio. The 49 artists who have made it this far were selected by a local focus group, amongst them brand new voices as well as some that have represented Belarus at Eurovision in the past.

The contestants performed songs in Belarusian, Russian, French and English and were evaluated by a 10-person jury panel composed of professional musicians, producers and past Eurovision participants. The expert jury chose 12 finalists that would compete in the televised national final.

Belarus in the Eurovision Song Contest

Belarus joined the Eurovision Song Contest in 2004 and qualified for the Grand Final in 2007 for the first time, when Dmitry Koldun scored the best ever placing for Belarus at that time, sixth.

Over the years, Belarus has used a combination of internal selections and national finals to choose its Eurovision Song Contest entry. Whilst Belarus has never won the Eurovision Song Contest, Alexander Rybak, the winner of the 2009 contest for Norway is actually from Belarus originally.

Last year, ZENA won Belarus' national selection and represented her country at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv with her song Like It.

What do you hope to see from the Belarusian national selection in 2020?

tags 2020 national selection Belarus

Comments 💬