Skip to main content

Austria: 16 candidates for national selection presented

02 December 2014 at 16:43 CET

The Austrian national selection will consist of four weekly broadcasts, starting on February 20th. In the first show, sixteen acts will be presented - today they have been revealed to the public:

This content is unfortunately no longer available

  1. The Makemakes
  2. Tandem
  3. wo/Men
  4. Royal Kombo
  5. Clara Blume
  6. The Su'sis
  7. Kathi Kallauch
  8. Johann Sebastian Bass 
  9. Celina Ann
  10. Renato Unterberg 
  11. Lemo
  12. Kommando Elefant
  13. Dawa
  14. Mizgebonez
  15. Folkshilfe
  16. Zoe

Out of these acts, an expert jury will pick six acts to qualify for the following three shows, where they will be able to prove their musical qualities with the help of three coaches: Anna F., Nazar, and The BossHoss.

In the second and third show, the remaining acts will be subject to different challenges, in which they can show prove their performing qualities.

Together with the coaches and an international songwriting team, each of the six acts will prepare two potential Eurovision songs. Part of the team are Julie Frost (composer of Lena's winning song Satellite in 2010), Jimmy Harry (who already produced hits for Bruno Mars, Pink, and Madonna), and several creative artists from Austria including Lukas Hillebrand and Wolfgang Schlögel (aka I-Wolf das Projekt).

On March 13th, the final will be broadcast live, and it will be the joint decision of the TV public and the jury which act and which song will represent Austria on home ground.