Skip to main content

Australia Decides reveals first Eurovision hopefuls

07 November 2019 at 20:00 CET
Eurovision - Australia Decides SBS
Australian broadcaster SBS, in partnership with Blink TV, presents the first 2 artists to compete in their national selection 'Eurovision – Australia Decides' in February 2020. Vanessa Amorosi and Casey Donovan will perform an original song for their chance to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

Hosted by comedian Joel Creasey and music buff Myf Warhurst, Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase the best Australian music talent and, alongside the voting audience, will reveal their winner on Saturday 8 February 2020.

Vanessa Amorosi

The first participant announced is an Australian icon, Vanessa Amorosi. Vanessa is a well-established singer and songwriter, having sold over 2 million records worldwide since the release of her seminal dance anthem Absolutely Everybody 2 decades ago. Of the opportunity, Vanessa said: "I am so incredibly excited to be part of Eurovision – Australia Decides 2020. I am a proud Aussie and to have the opportunity to sing one of my songs on a huge international stage representing Australia would be unforgettable."

Vanessa Amorosi SBS

Casey Donovan

Casey Donovan is another household name in Australia; at the age of 16, she became the youngest ever winner of Australian Idol in 2004. Over the last 13 years, she’s made her mark not only as a musician, but also on stage, screen, and as a presenter and writer. She is currently starring in the musical Chicago. Casey will sing the aptly titled song Proud: "Proud is such an incredible song written by the talented Justine Eltakchi, and I'm proud to sing it. I can't wait to share the stage with some of Australia's most talented singers."

Casey Donovan SBS

Watch the live TV final of Eurovision – Australia Decides 2020 on SBS on Saturday 8 February at 10:30 CET / 19:30 AEST.