Armenia to find successor to Sirusho tonight

Having internally selected the representative for the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest, the Armenian public broadcaster AMPTV decided to organise an open preselection again this year. Singers and songwriters were requested to send in their entries till the beginning of February, and the participants of the national final were announced only two days ago. So far, the titles of the songs to be presented have not been made public. The order of appearance in the show is as follows:

  • Iren
  • Hasmik Margaryan
  • The Beautified Project
  • Gayane Arzumanyan
  • Marta Bulbulyan
  • Inga & Anush Arshakyanner
  • Oxygen
  • Artyom Hakobyan
  • Shprot
  • Hayk Kasparov
  • Arman Harutyunyan
  • Guj
  • Lilu
  • Davit Minasyan
  • Mher
  • Dorians
  • Bambir
  • Hripsime Hakobyan
  • Davo
  • Tigran Petrosyan
  • Sergey Grigoryan

In tonight's show, the TV public will be asked for their verdict by SMS voting, the results of which will be added to the votes of an expert jury. The national final will be broadcast at 21:30 local time (18:30 CET), and it can be watched via satellite on Armenia 1 TV.

Armenia has taken part in the Eurovision Song Contest three times since 2006, and so far, all Armenian entries have been in the Final of the Contest. The best placing to date was reached by Sirusho in 2008 - she came fourth with her song Qélé Qélé.

Comments 💬

Related stories
Armenia's Athena Manoukian recording the music video for 'Chains On You'

Athena Manoukian releases official 'Chains On You' music video

11 months ago
Barbara Pravi will represent France at Eurovision 2021

France decided: Barbara Pravi to Eurovision 2021!

4 weeks ago
Voldemars Petersons qualify from the first Lithuanian heat

Lithuania has kicked off their selection show

1 month ago