Skip to main content

Anxhela Peristeri to represent Albania at Eurovision 2021!

23 December 2020 at 23:44 CET
Anxhela Peristeri will represent Albania at Eurovision 2021 RTSH
Anxhela Peristeri has won the 59th edition of Festivali i Këngës and will perform the song ‘Karma’ at the Eurovision Song Contest 2021 in Rotterdam.

The Albanian national final took place from Monday 21 December to Wednesday 23 December in the outdoor venue 'Sheshi Italia' in Tirana. Two semi-final shows were held ahead of the live final which once again was used to determine the Albanian Eurovision entry.

There were 18 participating acts who made it into the final. The professional jury consisted of Luan Zhegu (composer, singer), Kastriot Çaushi (actor), Zana Shuteriqi (musicologist, composer), Vasil Tole (composer), Preç Zogaj (poet, writer), Ramë Lahaj (tenor) and Andri Xhahu (spokesperson and commentator for Albania at the Eurovision Song Contest). They were in charge of selecting the Albanian entry for Eurovision and in the end they opted for the song Karma.

About Anxhela

Anxhela Peristeri's first participation in Festivali i Këngës was in 2001. For years she has been singing in concerts and performing at festivals, including Kënga Magjike, Çmimet Kult, Netët e Klipit and YFSF, where she has won various awards. Anxhela has many songs to her credit as a songwriter too. She released her music album Anxhela për ju in 2004 and in 2018, she released her first recital concert, Reflektim.

The final show

This was the running order of the 18 acts in the final:

  1. Sardi Strugaj - Kam me t'ba me kajt (2nd)
  2. Xhesika Polo - Më mbron
  3. Orgesa Zaimi - Valixhja e kujtimeve
  4. Wendi Mancaku - Vesi i shpirti tim
  5. Era Rusi - Zjarri im
  6. Gjergj Kaçinari - Më jep jetë
  7. Rosela Gjylbegu - Vashëzo
  8. Devis Xherahu - Peng
  9. Mirud - Nëse vdes
  10. Gigliola Haveriku - E lirë
  11. Viktor Tahiraj - Nënë
  12. Kamela Islamaj - Kujtimet s'kanë formë
  13. Florent Abrashi - Vajzë
  14. Inis Neziri - Pendesë
  15. Evi Reçi - Tjerr
  16. Anxhela Peristeri - Karma (winner)
  17. Festina Mejzini - Kush je ti dashuri (3rd)
  18. Kastro Zizo - Vallja e jetës

After the finalists performed, the audience was treated with some guest performances, including Eugent Bushpepa, who won Festivali i Këngës three years ago and represented Albania in Lisbon in 2018. Then, the hosts Jonida Vokshi and Blendi Salaj announced the top three: 3rd place went to Festina Mejzini, the runner-up was Sardi Strugaj and first place was Anxhela Peristeri.

Missed the final show? You can rewatch it on RTSH's YouTube channel.

Albania's best result in the Eurovision Song Contest so far is when Rona Nishliu reached 5th place in 2012 with her song Suus.

What do you think of Albania's choice, Karma, in the comments below!


Posted 22 December 2020 at 12:44 CET

We already have 22 confirmed participants for Eurovision 2021. On Wednesday 23 December the Albanian participant will be chosen during the final of the 59th edition of Festivali i Këngës.

As has become tradition, Albania has kicked off the national selection season with their show Festivali I Këngës which Eurovision fans in a loving way started calling FiK-mas (as the Albanian show always takes place around Christmas). On Monday 21 December, all the participants performed their songs on stage which has, due to the circumstances, been placed in the patio of the National Archaeological Museum in Tirana. The finalists for the final of Festivali i Këngës have been announced:

  • Anxhela Peristeri - Karma
  • Devis Xherahu - Peng
  • Era Rusi - Zjarri im
  • Evi Reçi - Tjerr
  • Festina Mejzini - Kush je ti dashuri
  • Florent Abrashi - Vajzë
  • Giliola Haveriku - E lirë
  • Gjergj Kaçinari - Më jep jetë
  • Inis Neziri - Pendesë
  • Kamela Islamaj - Kujtimet s’kanë formë
  • Kastro ZIZO - Vallja e jetës
  • MIRUD - Nëse vdes
  • Orgesa Zaimi - Valixhja e kujtimeve
  • Rosela Gjylbegu - Vashëzo
  • Sardi Strugaj - Ka me t’ba me kajt
  • Viktor Tahiraj - Nënë
  • Wendi Mancaku - Ves I shpirtit im
  • Xhesika Polo - Më mbron

Seven acts did not make it to the final.

  • Franc Koruni - E morën botën
  • Klint Çollaku - Do t’ja dal
  • Fatos Shabani - Ty
  • Enxhi Nasufi - Njësoj
  • Erik Lloshi - Jo
  • Agim Poshka - Vendi im
  • Stefan Marena - Meteor

On Tuesday 22 December, you will be able to enjoy all 25 songs again, this time as acoustic/unplugged versions.

You can rewatch the first show on RTSH's YouTube channel.