Skip to main content

American Song Contest: Michael Bolton, Macy Gray & Jewel among acts 🇺🇸

03 March 2022 at 19:30 CET
Michael Bolton, Macy Gray, Jewel and Sisqo are among the full lineup of acts competing for the title of 'Best Hit Song' when the American Song Contest launches on Monday 21 March.

The 56 artists span a wide range of performers, from undiscovered talent, up-and-coming new artists, and rising stars to established and legendary icons.

An incredible solo artist, duo, group or band will represent each location and perform a new original song, celebrating the depth and variety of different styles and genres across America.

American Song Contest 2022 – Meet The Artists:

To learn more about each act, visit the interactive map!

  • Alabama: Ni/Co
  • Alaska: Jewel
  • American Samoa: Tenelle
  • Arizona: Las Marias
  • Arkansas: Kelsey Lamb
  • California: Sweet Taboo
  • Colorado: Riker Lynch
  • Connecticut: Michael Bolton
  • Delaware: Nitro Nitra
  • Florida: Ale Zabala
  • Georgia: Stela Cole
  • Guam: Jason J.
  • Hawaii: Bronson Varde
  • Idaho: Andrew Sheppard
  • Illinois: Justin Jesso
  • Indiana: UG skywalkin
  • Iowa: Alisabeth Von Presley
  • Kansas: Broderick Jones
  • Kentucky: Jordan Smith
  • Louisiana: Brittany Pfantz
  • Maine: King Kyote
  • Maryland: Sisqó
  • Massachusetts: Jared Lee
  • Michigan: Ada LeAnn
  • Minnesota: Yam Haus
  • Mississippi: Keyone Starr
  • Missouri: Brett Seper
  • Montana: Jonah Prill
  • Nebraska: Jocelyn
  • Nevada: The Crystal Method
  • New Hampshire: MARi
  • New Jersey: Brooke Alexx
  • New Mexico: Khalisol
  • New York: ENISA
  • North Carolina: John Morgan
  • North Dakota: Chloe Fredericks
  • Northern Mariana Islands: Sabyu
  • Ohio: Macy Gray
  • Oklahoma: AleXa
  • Oregon: courtship.
  • Pennsylvania: Bri Steves
  • Puerto Rico: Christian Pagán
  • Rhode Island: Hueston
  • South Carolina: Jesse LeProtti
  • South Dakota: Judd Hoos
  • Tennessee: Tyler Braden
  • Texas: Grant Knoche
  • U.S. Virgin Islands: Cruz Rock
  • Utah: Savannah Keyes
  • Vermont: Josh Panda
  • Virginia: Almira Zaky
  • Washington: Allen Stone
  • Washington, D.C.: NËITHER
  • West Virginia: Alexis Cunningham
  • Wisconsin: Jake’O
  • Wyoming: Ryan Charles

Atlantic Records will serve as the exclusive music partner for American Song Contest and will release the original songs featured on the series; beginning Monday 21 March 21, Atlantic will release each week’s new batch of songs at 00:00 (midnight) ET / 21:00 PT.

'Atlantic Records is thrilled to partner with NBC and all the artists competing on ‘American Song Contest, ’ says Atlantic Records President, West Coast Kevin Weaver. 'As an innovative music label, we are always looking for new ways to discover and showcase talent, and American Song Contest is the perfect stage for America to see the best of the best from each state and territory. We are honoured to be working with NBC, all of the incredibly talented artists and the entire American Song Contest team.'

The series will broadcast live from 20:00 – 22:00 ET/PT from the Universal Lot and will run for 8 weeks until the Grand Final on Monday 9 May (the day before the First Semi-Final of the Eurovision Song Contest in Turin).

Grammy-winning pop superstar Kelly Clarkson and multi-platinum music icon Snoop Dogg will host the shows.

Kelly Clarkson and Snoop Dogg, hosts of the American Song Contest NBC

Snoop Dogg said: ‘I am honoured to host American Song Contest alongside my lil sis Kelly Clarkson, aka Miss Texas. 🎤🎬👊🏾👊🏾’

​Clarkson added: ‘I have been a fan and love the concept of Eurovision and am thrilled to bring the musical phenomenon to America. I’m so excited to work with Snoop and can’t wait to see every state and territory represented by artists singing their own songs.’

📺 Watch: Kelly Clarkson – Arcade

We should have seen this coming when Kelly covered the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest winning song Arcade on her wildly popular talk show earlier this month.

The American Song Contest will feature live and original music performances – from all 50 states, five U.S. territories and the capital.

An incredible solo artist, duo or a band will represent each location and perform a new original song, celebrating the depth and variety of different styles and genres across America.

The live competition consists of three rounds: Qualifying, followed by the Semi-Finals, and the ultimate Grand Final, where one state or territory will emerge victorious.

Clarkson is an Emmy-winning talk show host and Grammy Award-winning artist. America’s original Idol, Clarkson is one of the most popular artists of this era with total worldwide sales of more than 25 million albums and 40 million singles.

She has released eight studio albums and two children’s books including New York Times Top 10 bestseller River Rose and the Magical Lullaby. In 2020, she released her critically acclaimed Grammy-nominated studio album, Meaning of Life, and her powerful single I Dare You, which she recorded with five other artists in six languages – very Eurovision.

📺 Watch: Snoop Dogg – Drop It Like It’s Hot

Snoop Dogg is a multi-platinum artist, actor, philanthropist and entertainment icon. The rapper has reigned for nearly three decades as an unparalleled force, who has raised the bar as an award-winning entertainer and globally recognised entrepreneur. He has released 19 studio albums, sold over 40 million albums worldwide, reached number one countless times on Billboard charts internationally and has received 20 Grammy nominations.

The hosting duo have both appeared on The Voice with Clarkson serving as a recurring coach and Snoop as a ‘mega mentor’ for season 20.

Let us know what you think via the official Eurovision Song Contest YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Twitter and Facebook channels.