Skip to main content

Mia Dimšić wins 'Dora' – will fly the Croatian flag at Eurovision 🇭🇷

19 February 2022 at 22:21 CET
Mia Dimšić
Croatia has decided! The Balkan country now has its entry to the 2022 Eurovision Song Contest. Mia Dimšić will travel to Turin with the song 'Guilty Pleasure'.

📺 Watch: Mia Dimšić – Guilty Pleasure

It was by no means a small feat claiming the victory in the Dora song contest, with a starting line-up of 14 songs as Saturday night commenced in Croatia. But achieve that victory Mia Dimšić did, with the song Guilty Pleasure. And after triumphing in Croatia’s pre-selection for Eurovision, the artist will now represent the Adriatic nation at the Contest in May.

Mia scored the win with a whopping 257 points, a considerable margin ahead of runner-up Marko Bošnjak and his song Moli Za Nas, which ended the night on 179 points.

Runner-up on the night, Marko Bošnjak

It was the 4th year running that Croatian broadcaster HRT has organised Dora to select the country’s Eurovision entry. The winner of Dora 2022 was decided by the votes of 10 regional juries, and also by the viewers watching at home and voting, with each side accounting for 50% of the result.

Croatia at the Eurovision Song Contest

Croatia made its debut as a nation in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1993. To date, the best placing Croatia has achieved at the Contest is 4th, which it earned in 1996 and 1999. The late '90s was a particularly fruitful period at the Contest for Croatia. In 1998, the country finished in 5th place with the song Neka Mi Ne Svane by Danijela, scoring a points tally of 131, which remains an all-time high for Croatia at Eurovision.

The country is located on the eastern side of the Adriatic Sea, across from Italy on the western side – so Mia Dimšić can enjoy a relatively short journey to Turin in May, when she gets to represent her nation at the 66th Eurovision Song Contest.

📺 Watch: Severina – Moja Štikla (2006)

Let us know what you think of the Croatian winner via the official Eurovision Song Contest YouTube, Instagram, TikTok, Twitter and Facebook channels.