Skip to main content

678 suggestions for a Danish winner

27 September 2011 at 13:13 CEST

Interest in being part of next year's Danish final (Dansk Melodi Grand Prix) is huge. Monday was the deadline for submitting songs and a total of 678 were received. That's 15 more than last year, with an entire three months less to submit them!

A number of unknown and well-known composers, artists and lyricists have been working right up until the deadline, including Niels Brinck who represented Denmark in 2009 with the song Believe Again.

"It was a fantastic experience taking part back then and I think that I have been party to reforming Melodi Grand Prix", said Brinck who is busy adding the finishing touches to his second album.

"This time I've submitted a few rock songs. I hope they can work at Melodi Grand Prix", he smiled.

Many songwriters have been busy during the last few weeks. Monday was the last chance to send in their hopes for a winning song to Dansk Melodi Grand Prix. The names of the 10 finalists will be announced in the first part of January.

A panel of judges will now start listening to all 678 songs and subsequently whittle them down to the final line up. The panel's membership is a closely guarded secret and they do not know the names of the composers or lyricists.

Niels Brinck. Photo: Søren Bygbjerg (DR)

Ticket sales start on Friday

Six songs will be chosen by the judges to take part in the final of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix on the 21st of January 2012 at the Gigantium arena, where DR and the Aalborg Congress & Culture Centre will host the show.

In addition DR will invite four further Danish artists to take part as wildcards.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix will be broadcast live on DR1, but for those who want to experience the music, atmosphere and the fantastic show up close, tickets will be available to purchase at from Friday the 30th of September.

The winning song will represent Denmark in either the first or second Semi Final of the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest, which is set to take place in Baku, Azerbaijan on the 22nd, 24th and 26th of May next year.