Skip to main content

The 30 artists competing in Sweden's Melodifestivalen 2024

01 December 2023 at 11:35 CET
Loreen wins Melodifestivalen 2023 SVT / Alma Bengtsson
Swedish broadcaster SVT has released the names of the acts who will be participating in 'Melodifestivalen' 2024, each with the hope of representing Sweden at Malmö in May.

They've got quite the act to follow! But we now know the 30 artists who have stepped forward and confidently thrown themselves into the mix for the Melodifestivalen trophy in 2024. A victory will come with the opportunity for the winning artist to represent their nation at the Eurovision Song Contest on home ground, thanks to Loreen's win in Liverpool in May, with Tattoo.

Amongst the bunch we have some names that will be familiar to anyone who has been keeping up with Melodifestivalen in recent years, as well as a large batch of newcomers to the competition, including some up-and-coming acts and a few well-established artists who are giving Melodifestivalen a go for the very first time.

Of the 30 acts, 16 are first-timers. And anyone who tuned in to the Melodifestivalen 2023 final and saw Loreen take the win will recognise a few of her competitors in that very final who have returned to give it another shot one year later; Marcus & Martinus, Smash Into Pieces, Maria Sur and Adam Woods. 

We also see the return of Cazzi Opeia as a competing artist. Cazzi is one of the songwriters behind Loreen's Tattoo, which won both Melodifestivalen and the Eurovision Song Contest 2023.


Here are the 30 artists participating in Melodifestivalen 2024, along with the names of the songs they'll be competing with, and the songwriters behind them all:

Semi 1 - Malmö 
3 February 

Lisa Ajax Joyce Rodriguez

Lisa Ajax - Awful Liar 

(David Lindgren Zacharias, Sebastian Atas, Victor Crone, Victor Sjöström) 
Elisa Lindström Anna Lena Ahlström

Elisa Lindström - Forever Yours 

(Elisa Lindström, Erik Bernholm, Henric Axelsson, Henrik Sethsson, Thomas G:son) 
Samir & Viktor Hampus Forssander

Samir & Viktor - Hela Världen Väntar 

(David Kreuger, Fredrik Kempe, Niklas Carson Matsson) 
Smash Into Pieces John Gyllhamn

Smash Into Pieces - Heroes Are Calling 

(Andreas ”Giri” Lindbergh, Benjamin Jennebo, Chris Adam Hedman Sörbye, Jimmy "Joker" Thörnfeldt, Joy Deb, Linnea Deb, Per Bergquist) 
Melina Borglowe Johanna Pettersson

Melina Borglowe - Min Melodi

(Andreas Mattsson, Melina Borglowe, Thomas G:son) 
Adam Woods Susanna Tajik

Adam Woods - Supernatural 

(Adam Woods, Calle Hellberg, Jonna Hall, William Segerdahl) 

Semi 2 - Gothenburg 

10 February 

C-Joe Michael Lebancs Mbah

C-Joe - Ahumma 

(Charles Koroma, Diana Kambugu, Michael Didriksson, Palle Hammarlund, Tony Malm, Twice Ice) 
LIAMOO Anna-Lena Ahlström

LIAMOO - Dragon 

(Anderz Wrethov, Jimmy "Joker" Thörnfeldt, Julie "Kill J" Aagaard, LIAMOO) 
Engmans Kapell Rickard Eriksson

Engmans Kapell - Norrland 

(Larry Forsberg, Lennart Wastesson, Sven-Inge Sjöberg) 
Dear Sara Maria Olanders

Dear Sara - The Silence After You

(Benjamin Rosenbohm, Jonas Thander, Marcus Winther-John, Sara Nutti) 
Fröken Snusk Gustav Eriksson

Fröken Snusk - Unga & Fria 

(Fröken Snusk, Sara Ryan) 
Maria Sur Anna-Lena Ahlström

Maria Sur - When I'm Gone

(Anderz Wrethov, Jimmy "Joker" Thörnfeldt, Julie "Kill J" Aagaard, Maria Sur) 

Semi 3 - Växjö 

17 February 

Clara Klingenström Olivia Huerta Bratteng

Clara Klingenström - Aldrig Mer 

(Bobby Ljunggren, Clara Klingenström, David Lindgren Zacharias) 
Jacqline Ea Czyz

Jacqline - Effortless 

(Dino Medanhodzic, Jacqline Mossberg Mounkassa, Jimmy Jansson, Moa ”Cazzi Opeia” Carlebecker, Thomas G:son) 
Klaudy Kristoffer Jansson

Klaudy - För Dig

(William Schenberg, Åke Olofsson) 
Cazzi Opeia Julia Dansarie

Cazzi Opeia - Give My Heart A Break 

(Ellen Berg, Jimmy Jansson, Moa ”Cazzi Opeia” Carlebecker, Thomas G:son) 
Gunilla Persson Patrik C Österberg

Gunilla Persson - I Won’t Shake (La La Gunilla)

(Fredrik Andersson) 
Kim Cesarion Athina Strataki

Kim Cesarion - Take My Breath Away

(Albin Johnsén, Christoffer Johansson, Kim Cesarion, Mattias Andréasson, William Segerdahl) 

Semi 4 - Eskilstuna

24 February 

Lia Larsson Mats Hallin

Lia Larsson - 30 km/h

(Axel Schylström, Jimmy Jansson, Lia Larsson, My Söderholm, Thomas G:son) 

SCARLET - Circus X

(Emil Behmer, Henric Pierroff, Ian-Paolo Lira, Jessica Rachel Chertock, Scarlet, Simon Boustedt, Staffan Amberlind, Thirsty) 
Albin Tingwall Tove Floss

Albin Tingwall - Done Getting Over You

(Jimmy "Joker" Thörnfeldt, Joy Deb, Linnea Deb) 
Lasse Stefanz Mattias Johansson

Lasse Stefanz - En Sång Om Sommaren 

(Anders Wigelius, Anderz Wrethov, Robert Norberg) 
Danny Saucedo Sebastian Thomsen

Danny Saucedo - Happy That You Found Me

(Kristoffer Fogelmark, John Martin, Michel Zitron) 
Dotter Lukas Meiher

Dotter - It’s Not Easy to Write a Love Song

(Dino Medanhodzic, Johanna "Dotter" Jansson) 

Semi 5 - Karlstad 

2 March 

Jay Smith Casper Jarmo

Jay Smith - Back To My Roots

(Jay Smith, Jonas Jurström, Jonathan Keyes, Maria Jane Smith, Victor Thell) 
The south of Sweden's own Elecktra will be providing sparks (and shocks?) to the city of Malmö Joyce Rodriguez

Elecktra - Banne Maj 

(Anderz Wrethov, Elin Wrethov, Jonny Werner, Robin Werner) 
Chelsea Muco Luis Andrade

Chelsea Muco - Controlla 

(Anderz Wrethov, Chelsea Muco, Elsa Carmona Oljelund, FERNAND MP, Karl Flyckt, Pa Modou) 
Annika Wickihalder Dennis Wernersson

Annika Wickihalder - Light

(Annika Wickihalder, Herman Gardarfve, Linnea Gawell, Patrik Jean) 
The duo Medina finished in 2nd place at Melodifestivalen 2024, and will be entertaining visitors to Malmö Ea Czyz

Medina - Que Sera 

(Ali Jammali, Anderz Wrethov, Jimmy "Joker" Thörnfeldt, Sami Rekik) 
Marcus & Martinus Jonathan Perlmann

Marcus & Martinus - Unforgettable 

(Jimmy "Joker" Thörnfeldt, Joy Deb, Linnea Deb, Marcus Gunnarsen, Martinus Gunnarsen) 

Reigning Eurovision Song Contest champs Sweden have got some changes in store for the 6-week entertainment juggernaut that is Melodifestivalen. What was formerly 28 competing entries has now been increased to 30, with 6 songs participating in each semi-final across 5 weeks, with the top two from each semi going through to the big final in week 6. 

In 2024, Melodifestivalen will greatly reduce the second-chance round that has been in place for over 20 years. Now, instead of the round having an entire live show dedicated to it, it will be a more succinct phone vote that takes place at the end of the 5th semi final. During the phone vote, viewers will vote on the 3rd and 4th-place finishers from each semi, to decide on a top two that completes Melodifestivalen 2024’s 12-song final - finding a successor to 2023's Eurovision winner.

You can listen to all 37 songs of Eurovision 2024 via your favourite streaming service or watch the music videos on our YouTube channel.

The Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Malmö, Sweden on Tuesday 7 May (First Semi-Final), Thursday 9 May (Second Semi-Final) and Saturday 11 May (Grand Final) 2024.

Don't forget to download our app (for iOSAndroid), sign up to the official Eurovision Song Contest newsletter, and subscribe to the official podcast!