Skip to main content

The 2024 Marcel Bezençon Award Winners

11 May 2024 at 21:03 CEST
Christer Björkman hands out the 2024 Marcel Bezençon Awards to the winners Corinne Cumming / EBU
As we await the results of the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2024, there are three other trophies to hand out - the 2024 Marcel Bezençon Awards.

The annual Marcel Bezençon Awards happened in Malmö on the evening of Saturday 11 May, with three awards up for grabs to this year's Eurovision Song Contest Grand Finalists. 

Since the inaugural event in 2002, the Marcel Bezençon Awards, named after the creator of the Eurovision Song Contest, are handed out each year to three winners. The awards were dished out in the Delegation Lounge just prior to Saturday night’s show by Christer Björkman, Contest Producer of the 68th Eurovision Song Contest.

Nemo is a winner at the 2024 Marcel Bezençon Awards Corinne Cumming / EBU

Christer Björkman announced this year’s Marcel Bezençon Award Winners:

The Press Award, voted on by the accredited media, was awarded to Baby Lasagna, who is representing Croatia with his song Rim Tim Tagi Dim.

Baby Lasagna is a winner at the 2024 Marcel Bezençon Awards Corinne Cumming / EBU

The Artistic Award, which is given to the best artistic performance as voted for by the commentators from each participating broadcaster, was given to Switzerland's Nemo, who is performing for their country with the song The Code.

The Code also went and won a second award, the Composer Award, which is presented to an entry's team of composers, and voted on by all of the participating composers at the year’s Contest. This year, the award was presented to Benjamin Alasu, Lasse Midtsian Nymann, Linda Dale and Nemo Mettler. Together, they wrote The Code, performed by Nemo and representing Switzerland.

The Code, composed by Benjamin Alasu, Lasse Midtsian Nymann, Linda Dale and Nemo Mettler, is a 2024 Marcel Bezençon Award Winner Corinne Cumming / EBU

The Eurovision Song Contest would like to salute all of this year’s winners on their achievement!

You can listen to all 37 songs of Eurovision 2024 via your favourite streaming service or watch the music videos on our YouTube channel.

The Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Malmö, Sweden on Tuesday 7 May (First Semi-Final), Thursday 9 May (Second Semi-Final) and Saturday 11 May (Grand Final) 2024.

Don't forget to download our app (for iOSAndroid), sign up to the official Eurovision Song Contest newsletter, and subscribe to the official podcast!