Skip to main content
The 20th Junior Eurovision will take place in Yerevan in Armenia

16 countries will 'Spin The Magic' at Junior Eurovision in Armenia

26 September 2022 at 19:45 CEST
The 20th Junior Eurovision will take place in Yerevan in Armenia
The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and Armenian Public Television (AMPTV) have announced the 16 countries participating at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Yerevan, Armenia on Sunday 11 December.

Participating Countries (and Broadcaster)

  1. ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฑ Albania (RTSH)
  2. ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฒ Armenia (AMPTV)
  3. ๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ท France (France TV)
  4. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ช Georgia (GPB)
  5. ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ช Ireland (TG4)
  6. ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น Italy (Rai)
  7. ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency)
  8. ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡น Malta (PBS)
  9. ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  10. ๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฐ North Macedonia (MKRTV)
  11.  ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ Poland (TVP)
  12. ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น Portugal (RTP)
  13. ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ธ Serbia (RTS)
  14. ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ Spain (TVE)
  15. ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง United Kingdom (BBC)
  16. ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Ukraine (UA:PBC)

Alongside the participants list, AMPTV revealed that the theme for the 20th Junior Eurovision will be: Spin The Magic. You can read more about the theme on the official Junior Eurovision website.

Armenia is hosting the Contest thanks to Malรฉnaโ€™s coolly delivered victory with Qami Qami in La Seine Musicale, Paris, last year.

New to Junior Eurovision? 

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest has been a family favourite since appearing on our screens in 2003; that year Croatiaโ€™s Dino Jelusiฤ‡ won the Contest in Copenhagen with his song Ti Si Moja Prva Ljubav (You Are My First Love). 

A total of 40 different nations have participated over the years, with Georgia needing the largest trophy cabinet, having won on three occasions. Armenia, Belarus, Malta, Poland and Russia have notched up two victories each.

Joining the party in Yerevan are the 2023 Eurovision Song Contest hosts the United Kingdom; their first Junior participation since 2005 and the first time the BBC has taken part, as previous UK involvement was organised by ITV. 

The 20th Junior Eurovision Song Contest will take place in the Karen Demirchyan Sports and Concerts Complex, in Yerevan, Armenia, on Sunday 11 December at 16:00 CET.