Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


15 Norwegian Hopefuls Revealed

Posted 27 January 2014 at 12:30

This year the Norwegian national selection, Melodi Grand Prix, has undergone an extensive make-over, leaving us with just 15 songs and three Semi-Finals all taking place at the Folketeateret in Oslo, not to mention the Grand Final at the Oslo Spektrum arena.
Unlike previous years where the Semi-Finals took place over three weeks in different cities all over Norway, this year they will all take place over three consecutive evenings in Oslo on the 7th, 8th, 9th of March followed by the big Final on the 15th.

The 15 acts

Fans of the Norwegian national selection have been waiting for months to find out who will compete in this year's edition of Melodi Grand Prix and the wait is finally over. Below are the details of all 15 acts competing in this year's competition. We will publish more detailed information about each act in the coming days.
Song 1
Hilda & Thea Leora - Best Friend`s Boyfriend Music & Lyrics: Martin Kleveland, Lisa Desmond Linder & Jesper Jakobsen
Song 2
Mo - Heal Music & Lyrics: Laila Samuelsen
Song 3
Dina Misund - Needs Music: Dina Misund. Lyrics: Frode Bjørgmo Strømvik
Song 4
Linnea Dale - High Hopes Music & Lyrics: Linnea Dale & Kim Bergseth
Song 5
TIMBRE & Frikk Heide-Steen feat. Ida Stein - Frozen By Your Love Music & Lyrics: TIMBRE
Song 6
Cir.Cuz - Hele verden Music & Lyrics: Cir.Cuz
Song 7
Martine Marbel - Right Now Music: Martine Marbel & Goran Obad. Lyrics: Martine Marbel
Song 8
Oda & Wulff - Sing Music & Lyrics: Christer Wulff
Song 9
Knut Kippersund Nesdal - Taste of You Music: Magnus Hængsle. Lyrics: Magnus Hængsle & Jenny Moe
Song 10
Charlie - Hit Me Up Music & Lyrics: Lars K. Hustoft, Jon Asher & Melanie Fontana
Song 11
Moi - Bensin Music & Lyrics: Ingjerd Østrem Omland
Song 12
El Cuero - Ain’t No Love In This City No More Music: Brynjar Takle Ohr & B.L. Rolland. Lyrics: Brynjar Takle Ohr, Øyvind Blomstrøm og Håvard Takle Ohr
Song 13
Ilebek - Who Needs the Universe? Music & Lyrics: Andrea Ihlebæk
Song 14
Elisabeth Carew - Sole Survivor Music & Lyrics: Mats Lie Skåre, David Eriksen, Simon Climie & Elisabeth Carew
Song 15
Carl Espen - Silent Storm Music & Lyrics: Josefin Winther

Listen to short clips of the songs

Today, NRK uploaded short videos of each of the 15 acts containing short clips of each of the songs. You can listen to these by clicking right HERE.

The format

There are fewer songs taking part this year than in previous years, as broadcaster NRK are keen to focus on quality as opposed to quantiy, an approach pioneered by Music Coordinator, Vivi Stenberg.
Each of the Semi-Finals taking place on the 7th, 8th and 9th of March will contain five acts. Three acts from each Semi-Final will qualify to the Grand Final on the 15th of March. At the same time the audience, by way of video reports, will be part of the process, from when a song was given the green light by the Melodi Grand Prix editorial team in the autumn of 2013, right up until they stand on stage at the Folketeatret in March 2014. In addition, the jury, who were reponsible for selecting the entries, will give their feedback about the performances during the broadcasts.

The Melodi Grand Prix team received over 600 entries this year from songwriters, producers and artists, who want to show Norway how good they are.
The winner of Melodi Grand Prix 2014 will go on to represent Norway in the second Semi-Final of the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen on the 8th of May. The Grand Final takes place on the 10th of May.
Over the next couple of days, we published two special features about the 15 Norwegian acts, so that you can get to know them a bit better.
news2014Norwaynational selectionMelodi Grand PrixOsloNRK
Share this story