Skip to main content

13 countries will ‘Move the World’ at Junior Eurovision 2020

08 September 2020 at 13:00 CEST
The 13 participating countries at Junior Eurovision 2020 EBU
The EBU is excited to announce that young artists representing 13 countries will “Move the World” at the 18th Junior Eurovision Song Contest on Sunday 29 November. The Junior Eurovision Song Contest is the Eurovision Song Contest's 'younger sibling'.

Returning nations Armenia (ARMTV), Belarus (BTRC), France (FTV), Georgia (GPB), Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency), Malta (PBS), the Netherlands (AVROTROS), Russia (RTR), Serbia (RTS), Spain (RTVE), Ukraine (UA:PBC) and hosts Poland (TVP) all will take part. They will be joined by Germany (ARD/ZDF/Kika) which is competing for the very first time.

The show, hosted for the second year in succession by TVP, will take on a different form this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic: The 18th Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be hosted live from Warsaw in a studio with all presenters and necessary crew socially distancing. Interval acts will also perform live from Warsaw.

To protect the health of all the artists and ensure the competition can still take place in a fair and safe way, all the competing songs will be performed in a studio in each participating country.

"Travel restrictions and the ongoing issues relating to the COVID-19 pandemic mean regrettably we cannot bring all the artists to Poland to compete in person at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest this year," said Martin Österdahl, the Contest’s Executive Supervisor.

"The participants will have an equal chance to shine"

"We are determined however that the show must go on and that this competition, held annually since 2003, must continue. Despite the changes this year, all the talented youngsters chosen to represent their countries will still have an equal chance to shine, and, as is tradition, families from around the world will be able to vote for their favourite songs online."

"Every year the Junior Eurovision Song Contest unites young artists, their loved ones and music fans all over the world," - said Jacek Kurski, President of Polish Television (TVP).

He added, "It is an undeniable celebration of the talent of people who are just entering the world of music. That is why it is so important to create space and conditions for them to show their talent despite this year's difficulties. Just as during the spectacular show last year, TVP will do its best to provide young artists and the great international Eurovision family with a wonderful, unforgettable experience."

To ensure continuity and the fairness of the competition, EBU Members in the 13 participating countries have agreed to use a similar stage layout and technical set up to capture the performance of their artist(s).

Bringing families together

Although the young singers will not be able to meet in person, the Junior Eurovision digital platforms will provide opportunities for all those taking part in the competition to share their experiences and perform together. There will also be coverage of preparations in their home countries and the chance for viewers at home to interact with the participants.

Friendship is a big part of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest, as we’ve seen over the past years between the participants. EBU / Thomas Hanses

"Bringing families together is a core mission of public service media and as we reimagine the Junior Eurovision Song Contest for the times we currently live in we are committed to ensuring that everyone taking part this year, from the young singers around Europe to the audience at home, enjoy a positive and unifying experience," added Martin Österdahl. "We are grateful to all our colleagues at TVP for rising to the challenge of producing an ambitious live international TV production that will travel the world as well as “Move the World".

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2020 will be broadcast live on 29 November and starts at 17:00 CET. More details about the 18th Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be revealed in the coming weeks. Make sure to follow us on Facebook and Instagram and subscribe to our YouTube channel for the latest updates.