First Semi-Final
Tuesday, 14 May, 2013, 21:00 CEST
Second Semi-Final
Thursday, 16 May, 2013, 21:00 CEST
Grand Final
Saturday, 18 May, 2013, 21:00 CEST
Venue & Location
Malmö Arena, Malmö, Sweden
Host Broadcaster
Presented by
Petra Mede
Executive Producer
Martin Österdahl
Executive Supervisor
Jon Ola Sand
Multicamera Director
Daniel Jelinek, Robin Hofwander & Sven Stojanovic

Thirteen years after Stockholm hosted the Eurovision Song Contest, the 2013 contest took place in the Malmö Arena in Malmö, Sweden. Two Semi-Finals determined which twenty countries — ten from each Semi-Final — would join the 'Big Five' (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the UK) and host coumntry Sweden in the Grand Final.

The opening act of the Grand Final featured a true Eurovision anthem titled We Write The Story by Benny and Björn from ABBA and the Swedish DJ Avicii. Petra Mede presented the show alone, the first time there had been a solo presenter since 1995.

The slogan for the 2013 competition was We Are One.

About the winner

In the end, after all the excitement and millions of votes, it was Emmelie de Forest who took home the trophy for Denmark with the song Only Teardrops.

Facts and figures

  • There was a mechanism built into the catwalk of the stage that could elevate the artists. However, it was only used by Loreen during the interval act and UK participant Bonnie Tyler.

  • Ukraine's performance featured Igor Vovkovinskiy, who is the tallest person living in the United States. Igor carried Zlata, Ukraine's representative, onto the stage during her performance.

Latest about Malmö 2013

Norway's Eurovision 2020 representative Ulrikke

Eurovision this month: National selection preparations have begun

8 months ago

Agathon Iakovidis (Greece 2013) has died aged 65

8 months ago
Swedish DJ Avicii

Swedish DJ Avicii, co-writer of Eurovision 2013 anthem, dead at 28

3 years ago
Basim represented Denmark in 2014 in Copenhagen

Top ten Danish delights

4 years ago