Congratulations Israel!


The 2013 Eurovision Song Contest was in the Malmö Arena in Malmö, Sweden. 26 countries qualified for the Grand Final and took the stage in front of a live audience and millions watching at home.

The opening act of the Grand Final started with a Eurovision Song Contest anthem called We Write The Story by Benny and Björn from ABBA and the Swedish worldwide sensation Aviccii. Petra Mede presented the show alone, the first time that there had been a solo presenter since 1995. The slogan for the 2013 competition was We Are One.

About the winner

In the end, after all the excitement and millions of votes, it was Emmelie de Forest who the trophy home for Denmark with her song Only Teardrops.  

Facts and figures

  • There was a mechanism built into the catwalk of the stage that could elevate the artists however it was only used by Loreen in the interval act and the UK participant and the UK participant, Bonnie Tyler. 
  • Ukraine's performance featured Igor Vovkovinskiy who is the tallest person living in the United States. Igor carried Zlata, Ukraine's representative, onto the stage during her performance. 

The show

Grand Final
Saturday, 18 May, 2013, 19:00
First Semi-Final
Tuesday, 14 May, 2013, 19:00
Second Semi-Final
Thursday, 16 May, 2013, 19:00
Malmö Arena, Malmö, Sweden
Host broadcaster
Presented by
Petra Mede
Executive Producer
Martin Österdahl
EBU Supervisor
Jon Ola Sand

The contest

Number of participants